

THE CORPORATION OF THE TOWN OF COBOURG

The Corporation of the Town of Cobourg
Legislative Services Department
Victoria Hall
55 King Street West
Cobourg, ON K9A 2M2

Brent Larmer
Municipal Clerk/
Director of Legislative Services
Telephone: (905) 372-4301 Ext. 4401
Email: blarmer@cobourg.ca
Fax: (905) 372-7558

SENT VIA EMAIL March 2, 2023

David Piccini, Member of Provincial Parliament

Hon. Doug Ford, Premier

Hon. Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing

Hon. Merrilee Fullerton, Minister of Children, Community and Social Services

Hon. Sylvia Jones, Minister of Health

Re: Town of Cobourg Resolution – Homeless and Unsheltered Persons

At a meeting held on February 27, 2023, the Municipal Council of the Town of Cobourg approved the following Resolution #045-23:

Homeless and Unsheltered Persons

Moved by Deputy Mayor Nicole Beatty

Seconded by Councillor Adam Bureau

WHEREAS at the Regular Council meeting on February 27, 2023, Council considered a Delegation Action from the Committee of the Whole meeting on February 21, 2023, regarding Homelessness and Unsheltered Residents with an understanding and appreciation of the impacts and importance of the issue of homelessness has to the local community; and

WHEREAS the Town of Cobourg acknowledges that there are complex issues which can be presented through the challenges of homelessness and a lack of transitional and affordable housing, which are most significantly felt at the local level on a daily basis; and therefore have a measurable and detrimental impact on the well-being of all citizens of the Town of Cobourg; and

WHEREAS the Town of Cobourg does not have the resources, capacity or tools to address these complex challenges without the partnership of the designated service providers being the County of Northumberland, and the Province of Ontario;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council acknowledges that homelessness in the Town of Cobourg is a social, economic and health crisis; and

FURTHER THAT Council requests the support of the County of Northumberland as the regional service manager and facilitator of the Community Safety and Well-Being Taskforce by including Cobourg representatives and people with lived experience on it in an effort to address the local issues of homelessness in the Town of Cobourg; and



THE CORPORATION OF THE TOWN OF COBOURG

The Corporation of the Town of Cobourg Legislative Services Department Victoria Hall 55 King Street West Cobourg, ON K9A 2M2 Brent Larmer Municipal Clerk/ Director of Legislative Services Telephone: (905) 372-4301 Ext. 4401 Email: blarmer@cobourg.ca Fax: (905) 372-7558

FURTHER THAT Council requests a need for immediate action from the Province of Ontario to develop, resource and implement a comprehensive plan to prevent, reduce and ultimately end homelessness in Ontario; and,

FURTHER THAT Council invites the delegates to submit their presentations to the Northumberland County Social Services Standing Committee and County Council and member municipalities; and

FURTHER that a copy of this motion be sent to all Northumberland County Lower-Tier municipalities for support; and

FURTHER THAT that a copy of this motion be sent to Premier Doug Ford, MPP David Piccini, the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing; the Minister of Children, Community and Social Services, the Minister of Health, HKPR Board of Health, the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) and all 444 municipalities in Ontario.

045-23 Carried

If you have any questions regarding this matter, please do not hesitate to contact the undersigned at blarker@cobourg.ca or by telephone at (905)-372-4301 Ext. 4401.

Sincerely,

Brent Larmer

Municipal Clerk/Director of Legislative Services

Returning Officer

Legislative Services Department



Resolution

Moved By	Deputy Mayor Nicole Beatty	Resolution No.:
Last Name Printed	BEATTY	045-23
Seconded By	Councillor Adam Bureau	Council Date:
Last Name Printed	BUREAU	February 27, 2023

WHEREAS at the Regular Council meeting on February 27, 2023, Council considered a Delegation Action from the Committee of the Whole meeting on February 21, 2023, regarding Homelessness and Unsheltered Residents with an understanding and appreciation of the impacts and importance of the issue of homelessness has to the local community; and

WHEREAS the Town of Cobourg acknowledges that there are complex issues which can be presented through the challenges of homelessness and a lack of transitional and affordable housing, which are most significantly felt at the local level on a daily basis; and therefore have a measurable and detrimental impact on the well-being of all citizens of the Town of Cobourg; and

WHEREAS the Town of Cobourg does not have the resources, capacity or tools to address these complex challenges without the partnership of the designated service providers being the County of Northumberland, and the Province of Ontario;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council acknowledges that homelessness in the Town of Cobourg is a social, economic and health crisis; and

FURTHER THAT Council requests the support of the County of Northumberland as the regional service manager and facilitator of the Community Safety and Well-Being Taskforce by including Cobourg representatives and people with lived experience on it in an effort to address the local issues of homelessness in the Town of Cobourg; and

FURTHER THAT Council requests a need for immediate action from the Province of Ontario to develop, resource and implement a comprehensive plan to prevent, reduce and ultimately end homelessness in Ontario; and,

FURTHER THAT Council invites the delegates to submit their presentations to the Northumberland County Social Services Standing Committee and County Council and member municipalities; and

FURTHER that a copy of this motion be sent to all Northumberland County Lower-Tier municipalities for support; and

FURTHER THAT that a copy of this motion be sent to Premier Doug Ford, MPP David Piccini, the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing; the Minister of Children, Community and Social Services, the Minister of Health, HKPR Board of Health, the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) and all 444 municipalities in Ontario.

Recorded vote requested by Councillor Adam Bureau

	For	Against	Absent
Councillor Adam Bureau	Х		
Councillor Aaron Burchat	X		
Councillor Brian Darling	Х		
Councillor Miriam Mutton	Х		
Councillor Randy Barber	Х		
Mayor Lucas Cleveland		Х	
Deputy Mayor Nicole Beatty	Х		
TOTAL:	6	1	